On the Inflexibility of Social Networking Sites in Defining Relationship Status

I’ve been pondering the inflexibility of online social networking
relationship status selections. (Say that three times fast, eh?) What do
you put when you don’t really feel “single” and you don’t really feel
“in a relationship?” There is no in-between to select. So I must conform
to the choices they give me, the only options which may define my
status in relationship to another human being and consequently to the
rest of the world. So I remain single. No need to ask, no need to
clarify. There is my life contained right there on a little web profile
page for all the world to see.

Or perhaps it’s the other way around. Perhaps I am the one who is
inflexible: I cannot bend my own narrow definition of self to conform to
their and society’s standards. Or how about I just leave it at this: I
am still recognizably single while wanting desperately to select that
“in a relationship” checkbox. Maybe in a little while. Maybe.

Author: PhilRW

software engineer, pianist, polymath

Leave a Reply

