USC Film School Administration Held Up by Red Tape

This is regarding the Student Affairs Office.

May 26: I noticed I hadn’t graduated yet so I went to Student
Affairs and they said they said they’d look into it and that I should
check back next week. I felt good after this meeting, like I was being
taken care of.

May 31: I followed up as requested and was told that there was
a form that needed to be signed by two teachers, that they had
requested the form, and that I should check back next week to see if
they’ve gotten it and it was being processed.

June 6: I receive a call from the production office (a
separate administrative entity closely linked with student affairs but
in another building) telling me that the University’s deadline for
paperwork was June 15. I tell them that I’ve already spoken with Student
Affairs and that they were handling the situation.

June 7: Exactly one week after my first follow up with Student
Affairs I do it again, again as requested. I learn that an assistant is
handling the grade change and that this assistant would be getting back
to me soon.

June 12: Having heard absolutely nothing from Student Affairs
yet and with the University deadline fast approaching, I e-mail both
professors and ask if they have received communication from Student
Affairs on the matter. One of them gets back to me and says that he
received an e-mail from Student Affairs about a grade change form that
needed to be acted upon by the 15th but he didn’t recognize the name of
the student and requested more information; Student Affairs did not
respond to his request before he left town; he will not be back until
the 16th.

June 13: I had to request an enrollment extension today. If
Student Affairs gets the form signed and delivered before the end of the
Summer my graduation date will be sometime in August 2006, even though I
finished taking my last class in December 2005.

Can you understand my frustration?!?!?!

Author: PhilRW

software engineer, pianist, polymath

Leave a Reply

